cornerplay

ACCOMPANYING, INNOVATING, ENRICHING

Creator of strategic and commercial value
in the world of sports

 

THE EXPERTISE

Accompanying right holders
with their audio-visual development

  • working with sports stakeholders as part of their reflections on the audio-visual exploitation of their events
  • design of marketing programmes for audio-visual rights through calls for proposals and/or negotiation assistance
  • production of sporting events, from the system’s design through to the delivery of multimedia signals

Innovating in sport
business dynamics

  • renewal of the approach for sports with little current media coverage
  • integration of economic dimensions in the creation of new competitions

Enriching the approach
of stakeholders in the economic development
of sport

  • acceleration of the integration of industrial economic actors into the world of sports
  • contribution to the understanding of the organisation of sports for economic newcomers and alignment of the objectives
 

THE MISSIONS

Created in 2013, Cornerplay has emerged as a major player in the marketing of audio-visual rights for sports competitions in France. The competitions marketed in France and internationally by Cornerplay amount to over one billion euros in audio-visual rights.

The progression of right holders' contracts is gauged according to twin dimensions: a financial dimension, with a significant increase in the amount of rights, and a dimension related to enhanced exploitation in terms of the quality of audio-visual production, optimisation of the marketing procedures related to broadcast or the digital promotion of competitions.

Cornerplay helps its customers factor in new trends when it comes to consumption of audio-visual output through studies, meetings with key players on the international market and seminars presenting the results.

Logo de la ligue nationale de Handball
Logo de la ligue nationale de Rugby

Ligue Nationale de Handball (National Handball League)

Continuous support mission since 2013 for the marketing and management of audio-visual rights contracts in France and abroad: analysis of issues, reorganisation of the weekly calendar of championship matches, definition of production standards allowing the broadcasting of all matches in a controlled economy, multi-media segmentation of the exploitation of images, definition and implementation of the commercial strategy, monitoring of developments concerning broadcasters and new players, and assistance with management of the rights contract.

  • Logo de la Star League
  • Logo de la Pro League
  • Logo de la Coupe de la League
  • Logo des Trophées des Champions

After a contribution to the transformation of the competitions’ brands and the arrival of a title sponsor, a new tender made it possible to prolong the contractual relationship with beIN Sports under conditions which were significantly improved and, in particular, the broadcast of all the Lidl Starligue matches live, unscrambled exposure windows, the promotion of the Proligue, the League Cup and the Champions Trophy and a proactive policy on international exploitation. After a 5 five years contract, the new agreement runs from season 2019/2020 to season 2022/2023.

Finally, for 4 seasons, the LNH has entrusted Cornerplay with responsibility for producing its digital audio-visual content: match summaries, editorial sections, content for social networks and the HD archiving process.

Ligue Nationale de Rugby (National Rugby League)

Cornerplay supports the LNR on its audio-visual projects: marketing and monitoring of TOP 14 and PRO D2 championships, strategic review of digital issues, international rights.

  • Logo du Top 14

Top 14: strategic support mission for marketing of the media rights concerning the TOP 14 French rugby championship, both in France and internationally. Analysis of international and domestic markets, understanding of the competitive stakes and the strategy of the media players. Structuring of audio-visual rights and organisation of production.

Cornerplay oversaw 3 marketing cycles; the rights were marketed to Canal+ until the season 2022/2023. Since the 2014/2015 season, the amount of rights has more than tripled.

  • Logo des pro D2 Rugby

PRO D2: The marketing mission for this championship has resulted in reorganisation of the time slots for the competition, production of all the matches and an unscrambled window and an amount of rights multiplied sixfold. Exploitation of the rights has been attributed to Canal+, Eurosport and France Télévisions for seasons 2015/2016 to 2019/2020.


Strategic plan: participation in the initial review of the LNR Strategic Plan 2023 for the audio-visual part. A project was initiated concerning the digital strategy of French professional rugby. Cornerplay helped set out the key issues through understanding of 'best practices' in the sport.

International rights: setting up of a marketing and commercial project for international development. Leadership of a Steering Committee, definition of a strategy and associated budgets, meetings with the key international players. The LNR aims to become the most powerful league in terms of the audio-visual economy and footprint outside its borders with regard to club competitions.

European Professional Club Rugby (European rugby cups)

Management of tenders concerning two consecutive cycles for the audio-visual rights on the French market for the European Rugby Champions Cup and for the European Rugby Challenge Cup.

Mission to coordinate the exploitation of audio-visual rights in all host countries: management of international signals, graphic presentation, promotion, management of financial partners and schedule of matches.

Market studies, economic analyses and modelling of the expectations of audio-visual players in France. Development of the rights offer to be marketed and the auction procedure through to the allocation of rights. The rights were marketed to beIN Sport and France Télévisions until the season 2021/2022; the amount of fees has risen sharply over both cycles.

National Volleyball League

Cornerplay lent the LNV support on the audio-visual dimension of its offer. Leadership of a working group, plenary sessions, audio-visual audit of competitions, market research and proposals for improving the marketing dimensions made it possible to present the development project.

The initial stage of development consists of a paid digital offer concerning all the LNV competitions starting with the 2018/2019 season.



Horse racing (France): France Galop and Le Trot

Audiovisual strategy support consulting mission. Rights portofolio analysis. Opportunities case studies including existing broadcasters in collaborative workshops. Short and midterm implementation plans.

Infront

Participation in the commercial development with international sports institution.

The WORDS of SPORT

Cornerplay has created a translation and interpreting company in association with the Tradutec group, the French leader in the sector. Serving all the players in the sports industry, The WORDS of SPORT operates in France as well as on the international market alongside international federations, organising committees, national federations, professional leagues and, more generally, actors in the sporting world.

 

STÉPHANE

DOR

Experience in marketing, sports and media

STÉPHANE DOR

15 years with the French Professional Football League (1998 to 2013), including 11 as Marketing and Media Director.

ESSEC graduate in 1991 then 6 years of professional experience in marketing large-scale consumption food, cosmetic and entertainment products, before starting at the French Professional Football League:

Groupe DANONE : Brand manager, successively for Maille and Liebig. In charge of product marketing development, strategy and implementation of advertising-promotional campaigns as well as budget management.

Vendôme Laboratories : Brand manager for Le Petit Marseillais. In charge of product marketing development, strategy and implementation of advertising-promotional campaigns, relations with the plant, coordination of the sales force for the food sector mass retail distribution, as well as the operational account for each reference.

Disney Consumers Products : Football Program Manager, in charge of programme development for derivative products, on behalf of the French Professional Football League. Creation of brands and graphic charters, management of negotiations with manufacturers as well as food distribution and specialised store brands.

JEAN-GUILLAUME

WELGRYN

Experience in entertainment, media and sports

JEAN-GUILLAUME WELGRYN

11 years with the French Professional Football League, including 7 as Director in charge of Media and International development (2002 to 2013)

Graduate of the Paris Political Science Institute in 1991 and Masters degree in Marketing-Management from ESSEC in 2003, then 9 years of professional experience in the leisure sector, media and sports before moving to the French Professional Football League:

Sony Music Entertainment : Media and Advertising Manager, in charge of purchasing advertising spaces, as well as framework negotiations with agencies and the media.

Sony World Cup : Marketing and Communications Director, management of the licensing and merchandising programme for the France 98 FIFA Football World Cup.

L’Equipe : Marketing and Development Manager, brand development on new media and new assets (multimedia, print, entertainment, etc.).

“Le Lab” Digital Agency : Marketing Director, in charge of customer development for the creation of Internet sites and new media applications.

 

KNOW-HOW

Together, they managed the media and marketing responsibilities for the French Professional Football League from 2001 to 2013:

BROADCAST RIGHTS

BROADCAST RIGHTS

NEGOCIATION OF AUDIO-VISUAL CONTRACTS BETWEEN 2002 AND 2013 :

  • Growth of the generated turnover from €300 million to €680 million / season. Entry on audio-visual market of Orange Sport in 2008 and beIN Sport in 2012.

PRODUCTION

PRODUCTION

PRODUCTION OF IMAGES FOR THE LIGUE 1 AND LIGUE 2
CHAMPIONSHIP MATCHES :

  • Strategic recommendation, preparation and implementation, design of the production and media charters applied on the site during matches.
  • Significant raising of the production standards, leading Ligue 1 to be recognised as one of the best produced championships in the world.
  • Innovative development of signals dedicated to new media in order to adapt to screen sizes (full-screen shots, graphics).

INTERNATIONAL

INTERNATIONAL

DEVELOPMENT OF THE INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE OF THE LIGUE 1 :

  • Negotiation of contracts with worldwide representation agencies.
  • Turnover increase by 5 times in 8 seasons.
  • Broadcasting of the championship in more than 150 countries today.

TELEVISION

TELEVISION

CFOOT

(official channel of the French Professional Football League)
  • Drafting of the concept, choice of service providers (technical and programmes), securing of the DTT frequency from the French regulation authorities,
  • Negotiation of distribution and advertising network contracts,
  • Marketing and promotional plan for the channel.

COMPETITION

COMPETITION

REFORM OF THE LEAGUE CUP

  • Format and marketing of the competition, contract negotiations with the Stade de France for the finals, preparation of the commercial strategy, negotiation of audio-visual and sponsoring contracts, signing of a partnership contract with a charity organization, event management for the Final.

DEVELOPMENT

DEVELOPMENT

EXPORT OF THE CHAMPIONS TROPHY ABROAD :

  • Montréal (2009), Tunis (2010),
    Tangier (2011), New York (2012)
    and Libreville (2013).
  • Increase of the event’s turnover by 6 times and record crowd of
    55,000 spectators.
  • Broadcast of the match in more than 50 countries with each edition

BRANDING

BRANDING

"BRANDING" DEVELOPMENT OF THE INSTITUTION'S BRANDS (LFP)
AND OF ITS COMPETITIONS

(Ligue 1, Ligue 2, League Cup and Champions Trophy) :
  • Trophies, designations, logos, official ball, decoration of the stadiums, broadcast graphics

INSTITUTION

INSTITUTION

MANAGEMENT AND COORDINATION OF THE "MARKETING
AND TV RIGHTS COMMISSION"

  • Reflection and recommendation body for the French Football League on economic matters, consisting of the Chairman of the League and the Presidents of the club designated by the League’s Board of Directors
 

CONTACT




Before sending your message, enter the following number in the “visual code” field :

cornerplay

ACCOMPAGNER, INNOVER, ENRICHIR

Créateur de valeur stratégique et commerciale
dans l'univers du sport

 

L'EXPERTISE

Accompagner les ayants
droit sportifs dans leur développement audiovisuel

  • accompagnement des ayants droit sportifs dans leur réflexion sur l’exploitation audiovisuelle de leurs événements
  • conception de programmes de commercialisation des droits audiovisuels par appel à candidatures et/ou accompagnement à la négociation
  • production des événements sportifs, de la conception du dispositif à la livraison de signaux multi-supports

Innover dans l’approche business du sport

  • renouvellement de l’approche des sports peu médiatisés aujourd’hui
  • intégration des dimensions économiques dans la création de nouvelles compétitions

Enrichir la réflexion des acteurs engagés dans la valorisation du sport

  • accélération de l’intégration des acteurs économiques industriels dans l’univers du sport
  • contribution à la compréhension de l’organisation du sport des nouveaux entrants économiques et à l’alignement des objectifs
 

LES MISSIONS

Créée en 2013, Cornerplay est devenu un acteur majeur de la commercialisation des droits des compétitions de clubs en France. Les droits audiovisuels des compétitions commercialisées en France et à l’international par Cornerplay dépasse un montant cumulé d’un milliard d’euros.


Cornerplay accompagne ses clients dans la prise en compte de l’évolution des formes de consommations du spectacle sportif audiovisuel à travers des études, la rencontre des acteurs clefs du marché international et des séminaires de dirigeants.


Cornerplay développe ses compétences autour de l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur de l’exploitation des droits audiovisuels, de la production à la distribution en passant par l’édition. 

Logo de la ligue nationale de Handball
Logo de la ligue nationale de Rugby

Ligue Nationale de Handball

Mission continue d’accompagnement depuis 2013 pour la commercialisation et la gestion des contrats de droits audiovisuels en France et à l’international : analyse des enjeux, réorganisation du calendrier hebdomadaire des matches de championnat, définition des standards de production permettant pour la première fois la captation de tous les matches dans une économie maîtrisée, segmentation multi-supports de l’exploitation des images, élaboration et mise en œuvre de la stratégie commerciale, suivi des évolutions des diffuseurs et des nouveaux acteurs, assistance à la gestion du contrat de droits.


  • Logo de la Star League
  • Logo de la Pro League
  • Logo de la Coupe de la League
  • Logo des Trophées des Champions

Les droits des compétitions, à savoir le Championnat de France de D1, la Coupe de la Ligue et le Trophée des Champions, ont été commercialisés à beIN Sports pour les saisons 2014/2015 à 2018/2019.


Après la transformation des marques des compétitions et l’arrivée d’un sponsor titre, une nouvelle consultation a permis de prolonger la relation contractuelles avec beIN Sports dans des conditions largement améliorées et notamment la diffusion de tous les matches de Lidl Starligue en direct, des fenêtres d’exposition en clair et une politique volontariste sur l’exploitation à l’international. Le nouveau contrat court de la saison 2019/2020 à la saison 2022/2023.


Enfin, entre les saisons 2014/2015 et 2017/2018, la LNH a confié à Cornerplay la responsabilité de la production de ses contenus audiovisuels digitaux : résumés des matches, rubriques éditorialisées, contenus pour les réseaux sociaux et processus d’archivage haute définition.

Ligue Nationale de Rugby

Cornerplay accompagne la Ligue Nationale de Rugby depuis 2013 sur ses projets audiovisuels : commercialisation et suivi des championnats de TOP 14 et de PRO D2, réflexion stratégique sur les enjeux digitaux, droits internationaux.

  • Logo du Top 14

Top 14 : mission d’accompagnement stratégique sur la commercialisation des droits médias du championnat de France de rugby TOP 14, en France et à l’international. Analyse des marchés internationaux et domestique, appréhension des enjeux concurrentiels et de la stratégie des acteurs médias. Structuration des droits audiovisuels et de l’organisation de la production.

Cornerplay a géré 3 cycles de commercialisation; les droits ont été commercialisés à Canal + jusqu’à la saison 2022/2023. Depuis la saison 2014/2015, le montant des droits a été multiplié par plus de 3.

  • Logo des pro D2 Rugby

PRO D2 : réorganisation des créneaux de la compétition, production de tous les matches et fenêtre en clair résultent de la mission de commercialisation de la PRO D2. L’exploitation des droits a été attribuée à Canal +, Eurosport et France Télévisions pour les saisons 2015/2016 à 2019/2020 pour un montant 5 fois supérieur au contrat précédent. Cornerplay continue d’accompagner la LNR sur les questions audiovisuelles de la PRO D2 sur le cycle suivant.


Plan stratégique : participation à la réflexion initiale du Plan Stratégique 2023 de la LNR pour la partie liée à l’audiovisuel. Il a en résulté le lancement d’un chantier relatif à la stratégie digitale du rugby professionnel français.

Droits internationaux : mise en place d’un projet marketing et commercial de développement international. Animation d’un Comité de Pilotage, définition d’une stratégie et des budgets associés, rencontre des acteurs clefs internationaux. À l’issue d’un processus de consultation intégrant les principaux acteurs internationaux la LNR est devenue la Ligue la plus puissante au plan de l’économie audiovisuelle en dehors de ses frontières pour ce qui concerne les compétitions de clubs.

European Professional Club Rugby (organisateur des Coupes d’Europe de Rugby)

Pilotage de deux Appel d’Offres pour les droits audiovisuels sur le marché français de l'European Rugby Champions Cup et de l’European Rugby Challenge Cup.

Mission de coordination de l’exploitation des droits audiovisuels dans tous les pays hôtes : gestion des signaux internationaux, habillage, promotion, gestions des partenaires économiques et schéma de programmation des matches.

Études de marché, analyses économiques et modélisation des attentes des acteurs audiovisuels en France. Constitution de l’offre de droits à commercialiser et de la procédure d’enchères jusqu’à l’attribution des droits. Les droits ont été commercialisé à beIN Sport et France Télévisions jusqu’à la saison 2021/2022 ; la valorisation des droits a fortement progressée sur les deux cycles.

Ligue Nationale de Volley

Cornerplay a accompagné la Ligue Nationale de Volley sur la dimension audiovisuelle de son offre. Animation d’un groupe de travail, analyse de la situation, présentation au marché. La première étape de développement est constituée par une offre digitale de l’ensemble des compétitions de la LNV à partir de la saison 2018/2019.



Sociétés des Courses : France Galop & Le Trot

Mission d’accompagnement pour la redéfinition de la stratégie d’exposition audiovisuelle. Analyse du portefeuille de produits et des opportunités de nouveaux projets. Intégration des diffuseurs sous contrat dans une réflexion collaborative. Organisation d’une réflexion à moyen terme pour les Sociétés des Courses.


Infront

Participation à la définition de la stratégie audiovisuelle d’une nouvelle discipline sportive, dans le cadre d’une approche commerciale auprès d’une institution sportive internationale.

The WORDS of SPORT

Cornerplay a créé une société de traduction et d’interprétariat en association avec le groupe Tradutec, leader français du secteur. Au service de l’ensemble des acteurs de l’industrie du sport, The WORDS of SPORT opère en France comme sur le marché international auprès de Fédérations internationales, de Comités d’Organisation, de Fédérations nationales, des Ligues professionnelles et plus généralement des acteurs du sport.

 

STÉPHANE

DOR

Un parcours marketing, sport et médias

STÉPHANE DOR

15 ans passé à la Ligue de Football Professionnel (1998 à 2013), dont 11 en tant que Directeur Marketing et Médias.

Diplômé ESSEC 1991, puis 6 ans d’expérience professionnelle en marketing produits de grande consommation alimentaire, cosmétique et entertainment avant de rejoindre la Ligue de Football Professionnel.

Groupe DANONE : Chef de marques, successivement sur Maille et Liebig. En charge du développement marketing des produits, de la stratégie et de la mise en œuvre des campagnes publi-promotionnelles et de la gestion budgétaire.

Laboratoires Vendôme : Chef de marque Le Petit Marseillais. En charge du développement marketing des produits, de la stratégie et de la mise en œuvre des campagnes publi-promotionnelles, des relations avec les usines, de l’animation de la force de vente GMS (grande distribution alimentaire) et du compte d’exploitation de chaque référence.

Disney Consumers Products : Program Manager Football, en charge du développement du programme de produits dérivés pour le compte de la Ligue de Football Professionnel. Création des marques et des chartes graphiques, gestion des négociations avec les industriels, les enseignes de la distribution alimentaire et spécialisée sport.

JEAN-GUILLAUME

WELGRYN

Un parcours entertainment, médias et sport

JEAN-GUILLAUME WELGRYN

11 ans passés à la Ligue de Football Professionnel, dont 7 en tant que Directeur adjoint en charge des Médias et du Développement international (2002 à 2013)

Diplômé de Sciences-Po Paris en 1991 et d’un Master Marketing-Management ESSEC en 2003, 9 ans d’expérience professionnelle dans le domaine des loisirs, des médias et du sport avant de rejoindre la Ligue de Football Professionnel.

Sony Music Entertainment : Responsable Média et Publicité, en charge de l’achat d’espace publicitaire, des négociations cadres avec les agences et les médias.

Sony World Cup : Directeur Marketing et Communication, gestion du programme de licensing et merchandising de la Coupe du Monde de Football FIFA France 98.

L’Équipe : Responsable Marketing et Développement, développement de la marque sur de nouveaux supports (multimédias, édition, divertissement, etc.).

Agence Digitale "Le Lab" : Directeur Marketing, en charge du développement clients pour la création de site internet et d’applications nouveaux médias.

 

SAVOIR-FAIRE

Ensemble, ils ont géré les missions médias et marketing de la ligue Football Professionnel de 2001 à 2013.

DROITS AUDIOVISUELS

DROITS AUDIOVISUELS

NÉGOCIATIONS DES CONTRATS AUDIOVISUELS ENTRE 2002 et 2013

  • Développement et mise en œuvre de concepts d’appel d’offres innovants, intégrant une commercialisation des droits audiovisuels par lots assortie de processus d’enchères spécifiques.
  • Evolution du chiffre d’affaires généré de 300M€ à 680M€/saison sur la période.
  • Entrée sur le marché des droits télévisuels de Ma Chaîne Sport (en 2007, acquisition des droits de Ligue 2), puis d’Orange Sport en 2008 et de beIN Sport en 2012 (acquisition des droits de Ligue 1).
  • Lancement innovant de nouvelles exploitations sur les nouveaux médias : matches en direct sur smartphones et tablettes ainsi qu’extraits en quasi-direct et résumés à la demande (Orange), vidéos à la demande sur Internet fixe et mobile (L’Equipe.fr, YouTube et Dailymotion).

PRODUCTION

PRODUCTION

PRODUCTION DES IMAGES DES MATCHES DE CHAMPIONNATS,
DE LIGUE 1 ET LIGUE 2

  • Recommandation stratégique, élaboration et mise en œuvre, conception des chartes de production et médias appliquées sur site à lors des matches.
  • Augmentation significative des standards de production permettant à la Ligue 1 d’être reconnue comme un des championnats les mieux produits au monde.
  • Développement innovant de signaux dédiés aux nouveaux médias pour s’adapter à la taille des écrans (plan de caméras, habillage graphique).

INTERNATIONAL

INTERNATIONAL

DÉVELOPPEMENT DE L'EXPOSITION INTERNATIONAL DE LA LIGUE 1

  • Négociations des contrats avec les agences de représentation dans le monde.
  • Développement du CA par 5 en 8 saisons.
  • Diffusion du championnat dans plus de 150 pays aujourd’hui.

TÉLÉVISION

TÉLÉVISION

CFOOT

(Chaîne TNT officielle de la LFP)
  • Ecriture du concept, choix des prestataires (techniques et programmes) et obtention de la fréquence de TNT auprès du CSA.
  • Plan marketing et promotionnel de la chaîne.
  • Négociation des contrats de distribution et de régie publicitaire.

COMPÉTITION

COMPÉTITION

RÉFORME DE LA COUPE DE LA LIGUE

  • Evolution du format sportif et marketing de la compétition. Gestion événementielle de la Finale.
  • Négociation des contrats avec le Stade de France pour les finales.
  • Elaboration de la stratégie commerciale, négociations des contrats audiovisuels et de sponsoring, développement de partenariats caritatifs et sociétaux (Restos du Cœur).

DÉVELOPPEMENT

DÉVELOPPEMENT

EXPORTATION DU TROPHÉE DES CHAMPIONS À L'ÉTRANGER

  • Montréal (2009), Tunis (2010),
    Tanger (2011), New York (2012)
    et Libreville (2013).
  • Multiplication du CA de l’événement par 6 et affluence record portée à
    55 000 spectateurs.
  • Diffusion du match dans plus de 50 pays à chaque édition.

BRANDING

BRANDING

DÉVELOPPEMENT "BRANDING" DES MARQUES DE L'INSTITUTION
ET DE SES COMPÉTITIONS

(LFP, Ligue 1, Ligue 2, Coupe de la Ligue et Trophée des Champions)
  • Rénovation des trophées, évolutions des appellations et des logos.
  • Développement de la notoriété des marques : ballon officiel dédié, habillage des stades, habillage graphique des retransmissions audiovisuelles.

INSTITUTION

INSTITUTION

GESTION ET ANIMATION DE LA "COMMISSION MARKETING
ET DROITS TV"

  • Organe de réflexion et de recommandation de la LFP sur les questions économiques, regroupant, autour du Président de la LFP, des Présidents de clubs désignés par le Conseil d’Administration de la Ligue.
 

CONTACT




Avant d'envoyer votre message, entrez le chiffre ci-dessous dans le champ "code visuel" :